» About Us

About Us


About the Ohio Valley Tennis Association


The Ohio Valley Tennis Association is a non-profit corporation first recognized in 1926 as the Ohio Valley Lawn Tennis Association.  Its roots originated in the Southern Ohio Tennis Association in 1920 and is now the governing body of tennis in central and southern Ohio, 16 western West Virginia counties and three northern Kentucky counties bordering the Cincinnati area.   Click here to view the counties served and our area associations.

The OVTA is one of 14 districts of the USTA/Midwest Section which in turn is the governing body of tennis in a section of the United States covering Wisconsin, Michigan, Illinois, Ohio, western West Virginia and a tip of northern Kentucky.  The USTA/Midwest Section in turn is one of the 17 sections of the United States Tennis Association (USTA), the governing body of tennis in the United States. 

Our mission at the Ohio Valley Tennis Association is to provide opportunities to grow tennis, a game of a lifetime, by promoting USTA and USTA/Midwest Section programs; by coordinating, supporting and promoting Area Associations tennis activities;and by sharing ideas and practices through all Area Associations.   


Board of Directors 


President Carole Meldon Cincinnati, OH
Executive Vice President Lonnie Simmons Charleston, WV
Vice President Brett Hoch Lancaster, OH
Vice President Darrin Heinz Dayton, OH
Secretary Steve Reed Wilmington, OH
Treasurer Brad Baker Westerville, OH
Immediate Past President Erin Ortman Columbus, OH
Area Chairs Representative Dana Eddy Charleston, WV













Delegates At Large

Barb Law Yellow Springs, OH
Ken Berlin Columbus, OH
Tyler Stephen Columbus, OH
Scott Ash Parkersburg, WV
Gabe Higgs Columbus, OH
Sophie Reed Athens, OH
Mary Conner Cincinnati, OH




Executive Director Dave Engle (937) 399-5064 ovta@woh.rr.com
USTA League Coordinator Margaret Buttram (937) 886-8633


USTA Jr. Team Tennis / 10 and Under Coordinator Peggy Knasel (937) 206- 5323 peggy.ovta@gmail.com